More Info
Reviews
Like us!
Follow us!
Follow us!

HOME AWAY RANCH

Write a Reviews

Clients Feedback

Katie Incredibly Memorable Experience For All Of Us!

Micky, Just a note to say this was an incredibly memorable experience for all of us! This morning the little one (Ben) was talking about his horseback riding experience and he said "I want to see Mickey!" Thought you might like to know that you make quite an impact :) have a great week!

Published July 29, 2019
Image Not Found Mike

We had an enjoyable stay with Vicky 7 Mickey. It was nice waking up and petting all the horses, donkeys, goats, etc... The pups were friendly too. Be sure to ask about them cooking dinner - We had a 5-STar Meal served outside under the stars. It was one of the best meals we have ever had.  Mike at The Wildflowers Cabin

Published July 3, 2019
Image Not Found David Tate

My family and I really enjoy spending special weekends together visiting the Ranch. My daughters love taking riding lessons from Miguel, and we are all becoming better riders each visit. We love the beautiful surroundings and the peaceful energy there. My girls love to sit by the fire and watch the fireflies. They love to feed the goats and farm animals. Very relaxing place to unwind! David Tate, Midland, Tx

Published June 28, 2019
Image Not Found David Tate

My family and I really enjoy spending special weekends together visiting the Ranch. My daughters love taking riding lessons from Miguel, and we are all becoming better riders each visit. We love the beautiful surroundings and the peaceful energy there. My girls love to sit by the fire and watch the fireflies. They love to feed the goats and farm animals. Very relaxing place to unwind! Midland, Tx

Published June 28, 2019
Image Not Found Mike Great Stay!

We had an enjoyable stay with Vicky 7 Mickey. It was nice waking up and petting all the horses, donkeys, goats, etc... The pups were friendly too. Be sure to ask about them cooking dinner - We had a 5-Star Meal served outside under the stars. It was one of the best meals we have ever had.  Mike at The Wildflowers Cabin

Image Not Found Wendy R. Our Honeymoon

We stayed here several nights and this place was amazing. Vicky and Mickey are the best and they make sure your stay is unforgettable. They personally cook brunch and I have to say it is the best brunch I have ever had. You can enjoy the peacefulness of the hill country but you are just minutes from town. I highly recommend this to anyone that wants to get away for the weekend or taje your family for a little vacation. Thank you Vicky and Mickey for making our stay so enjoyable.

Published Jul 3, 2015

Image Not Found River R&R

Having spent the last seven hours en route to our dear Victoria & Miguel, it was nothing short of a relief to find open arms ready to guide us to our adjoining suites upon our family's arrival Sunday evening. Our three darling children slept in quite a bit on Monday morning so we simply perused the property before going to explore Boerne. After purchasing a few snacks, a 25' run for our dog and tubes (on which we anticipated to "float the river" instead of the adjoining swollen steam), we headed back to our temporary abode, ready for our next day's adventure at the Guadalupe River. After sleeping in again on Tuesday, we coaxed the kids off the property, away from their new farm animal friends for the sake of a little river therapy. Having brought our energetic canine, we took him (out of the ranch's dog kennel) on the approximately ten minute drive to sunshine and sand. Exhausted after hours of enjoyment, we once again retired to our cozy rooms on Tuesday evening after cooking hotdogs and marshmallows (for s'mores) on homemade skewers (c/o Becka, one of the sweet ranch employees) over the fire pit. After arising abnormally post-9am once more, our Wednesday was spent again on the property: exploring, grilling out, playing with the goats and on the pony! One of our twin toddlers was slightly overwhelmed by the idea of being on horseback but the other had an absolute blast. As for our tween daughter, simply interacting with the animals and playing on the property was nothing short of a therapeutic reprieve from suburbia. In summation, DFW was so far from missed that our twins continue to request we return to "our temporary home" in Hill Country even over a week after coming back to our own beds.

As an aside, the property is currently (summer of 2015) undergoing improvements that require extra supervision for young children when exploring but the hand-in-hand adventure simply added to the allure for our family!

Published Aug 6, 2015

Image Not Found Miguel S. Cool "country" Weekend

We had a very cool weekend in the Country, and highly recommend this lovely suite, with nice jacuzi tub and awesome view! We opened the blinds on all the wrap around windows(3 sides) and from the bed it felt like we were camping outside in the lovely woods, but with a very comfy room, lol.

We rented both adding suites so ended up with the entire building (sleeps 8), and put the kids on the other side (Bird House Suite), and we stayed in the Tree House Suite so Walter and I felt romantically alone, yet with the reassurance that the kids were safely their own suite next door, watching Netflix on their huge high def flatscreen (they were tired from paying in the lovely river, which is 5 minutes from our suite, all day). We hired Vicky to bring us breakfast to our room and ate in bed,-The real Italian home-made capuchins, warm croissants and fresh squeezed orange juice and champagne was so deliciously sinful...

We also rode the horses and fed the goats, they are so cute...We even got to see babies being born, nurse for the first time, and them later! got to be the first person to hold them... Had a BBQ which the hosts arranged everything for us, then warmed by a bonfire with our favorite wine. Words can't describe how cool it is.

We hope to return for Valentines, without our kids, and let Vicky and Micky take us on the wine tasting tour!

Published Jan 26, 2017

Image Not Found Floriana M. Paradise!

Mickey and Vicky are wonderful, welcoming people! The ranch is a real Paradise, filled with friendly animals, clean air, and a firefly show every night. So if you want to escape the craziness of the city, but not be too far away from everything, and enjoy a romantic getaway, this is the place for you!

Published May 24, 2017

Image Not Found Chris L. Wonderful

Miguel and Vicky are exceptional hosts. They are kind and caring and aim to please. As soon as we arrived on the property, Miguel was there to help carry in our bags, and as soon as we got to the front door, Vicky was there with hugs and a warm welcome.

We stayed in the main house and it was very nicely decorated, clean and a perfect temperature to walk into from the very hot day. The room itself was a good size with a large, comfortable queen-size bed and closet, with plenty of storage throughout. There was also a large HD TV with a great sound system and Netflix at the push of a button.

The property is huge and a lot of fun to roam around on. We did a little exploring and even spent one morning hanging out with the horses and donkeys, petting them and laughing at their funny quirks. The wrap around deck is also a great place to hang out and simply look over the land. The city of Boerne is a short 5 minute drive when you're ready to see the town.

The breakfast here is excellent, but you have to come with a huge appetite, because the food keeps coming. We literally spent two hours each morning just eating breakfast, trying all of the wonderful choices Miguel and Vicky had to offer.

Overall, this place is a fantastic visit that is made even more special by the owner/hosts, Miguel and Vicky. We will absolutely be back!

Published Sep 10, 2015

Image Not Found Alexander R. Country Feel With City Amenities Nearby

The area is beautiful, the ranch is quaint, and Vicky and Miguel and really friendly. I didn't see the breakfast offered in the description, but I'm really happy I found out about it. We chose to have the omelets and it was amazing. A full five course breakfast with a coffee bar and mimosas! Plan to spend at least an hour eating and make sure you arrive hungry. Vicky is a Cordon Bleu graduate.

We originally booked a small cottage apartment, but it was not cleaned according to their own standards so Vicky upgraded us to a larger cabin for the same price. The cabins are really neat and provide nearly everything you could ask for. If it isn't in the cabin Vicky or Miguel will find it for you.

If you like the Texas hill country, friendly hosts, and a ranch atmosphere you will like this place.

Published Sep 25, 2015

Image Not Found Isaac G. Cabin Stay

Our hosts both came across as very inviting and accommodating; and, were upgraded to a cabin due to a fortunate cancellation on the part of another guest. While unable to have a chance to try Viky's cooking, we do hope to return and do so the next time around. My girlfriend and I were both very pleased with our stay and sincerely look forward to doing so once more.

Published Nov 14, 2015

Image Not Found Most Memorable Valentine Weekend!

Five minutes east of Boerne, TX, nestled in the hill country, our 30 Acre Ranch B&B getaway. At first my wife and I did not know what to make of the property as it was a little rough around the edges, with restoration / remodeling, and a little TLC being needed here and there, still we were away from the hustle and bustle of the big city of Houston. Once we settled in, we finally met with our main host “Vicky”, and what was to be a heart welcoming reception, which exceeded our expectations as she continued to woo us throughout our stay, as did her husband Mickey and father in law Abel. Note: thank you Vicky for working up the surprise I requested upon our arrival for my wife (Yellow Roses and Chocolate covered Strawberries).

We settled into our cottage, which was quaint and cozy; just what my wife and I needed, some alone time. Upon our daily awakening, we walked the beautiful property, feeding their horses, goats, and donkeys as they warmed up to us. This was only to be followed up by an amazing breakfast; freshly made pastry and a Texas size country breakfast (food just kept on coming). The meals and presentation was amazing (Vicky is a Chef from Cordon Blue in France), which was complemented by their continued hospitality and attention to detail (Note: my wife and I hold genuine hospitality to the highest standards, which they exceeded). We then transferred to the barn house for our final 2 nights (remodeled to be the addition to their existing properties on the ranch, which included a newly added bistro). Again, their hospitality continued to supersede our expectation by the attention to catering provided by this most welcoming family. To top things off, our host also prepared and cooked for us on Valentines evening (4 course meal: seafood for my wife and beef & pork for me; dinner under the stars). The setting and the food was most excellent – food just kept coming and our stomachs got bigger as we faded into the night. Overall it will be hard to outdo the amount of attention given by this family and their B&B. Thank you Vicky, Mickey, and Abel for making this our most memorable valentine’s day to date.

PS. Thank you Abel for serenading us over our last day of breakfast and guitar lessons you shared with me.

Image Not Found Marcia B. Unique Experience!!

My family and I spent New Years week in this colorful cozy cottage... which was transformed many years ago into a lovely home overlooking the horse pastures on one side nestled in a little canyon with woods on the other side and with our own private "Bistro" (French outdoor cafe restaurant) complete with little wrought iron little round tables and chairs in different shades of lilac and purple with a beautiful view and the horses come right up to the windows to say hi - it was a real unique experience which we will never forget; the smell of pancakes cooking in the old timy kitchen, the kids laughing and playing with the baby goats Marie Jane our littlest riding Bella the pony, sunset horseback riding and then all gathered around a bon fire roasting marshmallows and telling scary stories... I could go on and on at the wonderful time these great folks at this funky ranch helped us have.

But you just have to find out for yourself, all you need is to pack a good sense of adventure, swim suite and a pair of jeans, talk to Micky and Vicky and they can help you plan a perfect vacation like they helped us, we can’t wait to go back!!

Image Not Found MS. The Perfect Spot For A Girls Retreat

We were lucky enough to find this nice cottage in The Hill Country in the sourrounded by trees and nature.

For a while my friends and I were looking for a secluded place were to stay for a women's retreat and we were so pleased to have found this one.

Even though it only has one bathroom, it has 3 nice bedrooms, 2 living areas, a decent kitchen but above all it has an outside Bistro where we were able to talk and drink coffe watching the goats, horses and donkeys roam freely.

We will come back again for our next retreat.}

Brenda

Published Jan 30, 2017

Image Not Found Tara M. Relaxing Getaway

My husband and I had a great relaxing weekend for our anniversary. The cabin was wonderful just what we were looking for. We will definitely be back again it was well worth it. Thanks again to the owners for everything!

Published Sep 26, 2015

Image Not Found Sherdeana O.Corpus Christi, TX Very Restful Stay

The cabin is a good basic place to stay. It is compact but comfortable. No frills but very peaceful. There are other cabins close by but all residents were very quiet. The cooking equipment was sparse; however, the hosts will provide any extra items you request. There is a downstairs bedroom and a sleeping loft. The ranch has longhorns, horses, goats and an adorable donkey. The goats roam freely and are very entertaining. It was great to have an early morning cup of coffee on the porch and watch the goats and donkey mill about. The hosts are very attentive and communicate with you as needed. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. I recommend it for a couple or a family with one or two children. The nearby town of Boerne is lovely and has good shopping and dining. Boerne is also close to north San Antonio and the commute is quick.

Published Nov 14, 2015

Image Not Found Marc M. A Great Getaway

My wife and I had a great time in our little cabin. We took our 19 month old son and he had a great time seeing the goats and donkeys on the property. We had an incredible brunch that the owners cooked for us. I love places like this where you're helping support a small, family run business instead of staying at a large hotel. They were friendly and helpful the entire trip and are even shipping us a warm hat that we left behind. We'll stay again the next time we're in the area!

Published Jan 6, 2016

Image Not Found Hugh S. Pleasant Facility

We enjoyed our stay. Our trip was to spend time with my Father , so, we only showered & slept in the cabin. Our daughter REALLY missed not having "TV" . I am technically challenged so didn't know how to make the sets on cabin function.

Published Jul 5, 2016

Image Not Found Laura S. A Great Cabin For A Glamping Family Weekend!

We had a great time at the little cabin. It's not fancy, but it has everything you need. Expectations should be set with the concept of "glamping" with all the amenities. The bed in the bedroom is lovely, comfortable, cozy. The A/C works great during hot Texas summer days. The water is hot for a nice shower (no bathtub, but we managed). Kitchen and dining room worked well for cooking simple meals. The upstairs loft has very low ceilings. Adults must crawl. But it worked well for our three kids 5 and under to bunk and play up there in their own space. The stairs are very narrow and steep. But we had no trouble.

Micky and his staff were very nice. We paid extra to have the kids ride Bella the miniature horse, and they loved it! We also got to feed the goats.

Boerne is a lovely little town. We had fun hiking, eating, hitting some breweries, etc. Overall, a really great trip for us. Thanks so much!

Published Oct 20, 2016

Image Not Found Marianne C. Serene Hill Country Cabin

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Home Away from Home Ranch. The cabin was clean and looked just like the pictures. Mickey and his brother were very attentive and very nice hosts. We enjoyed the peaceful hill country scenery, rode Zeus the horse and the pony, and watched movies on Netflix and Amazon Prime. It was truly a great weekend. We will be going back very soon!!! Thank you to everyone at the Home Away from Home Ranch!!

Published Sep 27, 2016

Image Not Found Just The Right Place To Spend The Weekend

The cabin was very clean and cozy.

We loved watching the animals (horses, goats, donkeys, deer, etc) walking through the ranch, we were able to set our tent outside our cabin and our children slept there, we all had a wonderful time.

Looking forward to our next visit.

We highly recommend this cabin and in general this amazing ranch.

HL.

Published Jan 26, 2017

Image Not Found Miguel S. Ideal Clean Cabin For My Kids And I.

We had a very nice time in this cabin, Tom and Sussie my kids just loved the loft and watching Netflix, they also liked petting the animals, mainly the baby goats and riding Bella the minature horse.

As I was preparing to cook dinner I couldnt find a lighter however Walter and the Staff where always there to help me out.

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your ranch.

Karen

Published Jan 30, 2017

Image Not Found Miquela C.Austin, TX Lovely Country Setting Close To Boerne

We spent 3 days on the property and found it very enjoyable. The farmhouse has an interesting layout that may not be great for larger groups, but it accommodates our party of 3 just fine.

We were delighted to see several baby goats were born the day that we arrived. We loved spending time around the horses and goats. The ranch itself is beautiful and contains an elevation for a very pretty view.

Micky and Vicky were very hospitable and attentive. Vicky made a delicious chocolate cake for our daughters birthday.

The property is still a work in progress and we look forward to seeing it again in the future.

Published Dec 12, 2017

Image Not Found Gary B. We Really Enjoyed Our Stay. The Cabin Was Nestled In The Woods And It Was Very Quiet And Peaceful.

It was very quiet and peaceful. We loved sitting out under the trees and reading. The lightening bugs were fun to watch each evening. The staff was so friendly and helpful! It was exactly what we were looking for.

Published May 29, 2016

Image Not Found Patrick R. Delightful In Every Way!!!

I took my family on a much needed vacation and was not sure what I would get since is my first time staying in this type of places.

I was a little concerned as my family is very picky but this seemed to work best since my children were bringing friends all I can say is that it was great, the owners were attentive to our every need, the place was gorgeous and in great shape and they were able to satisfy my wife's needs for more and more cooking utensils so she was happy which made it better for me.

The kids were kept busy and had a blast with horseback riding lessons, horsemanship, survival lessons (camping) and of course feeding and playing with all the menagerie.

We have already reserved our next vacation.

Published Oct 18, 2016

Image Not Found Mark D.Home Of The Dallas Cowboys Nicely Appointed Accommodations And Relaxing Atmosphere

Had a wonderful time relaxing and unwinding in a beautiful hill country environment. Vickie and Mickie were fantastic and very accommodating to all our needs. The home was very nicely decorated and clean. Enjoyed everything about our stay. We would highly recommend staying here. The main house left nothing to be desired, and we look forward to staying again soon.

Published Oct 23, 2016

Image Not Found Miguel S. Truly Wonderful Weekend

We were a little hesitant since there was a negative review, but this place has so many great reviews that we decided to take the chance and glad we did!!

First of all, anyone going to a place in the Country that is WILDLIFE NATURE PRESERVE should not expect for it to feel like a city house.

After all, if you want a city experience, why go to the country?

Having said that the porch-deck is huge, has trees growing through it, which is very romantic, and has an eclectic variety of umbrella-tables and chairs, cushy chaise lounges to curl up with a book-or a good cold beer and watch all the animals go by and the cowboy kitchen which is on the porch has a top of the line BBQ grill, refrigerator, etc. Yes it is rustic, but it is made to be that way, that is the charm.

Inside, there is nothing rustic about it, it is fully equipped and outfitted with the most beautiful art from all over the world.

Do not be shy to ask Vicky or Micky the stories... they have collected this art all over the world and tell very interesting stories which make the experience all that much more fun (great to listen to while sitting at the original Hemingway Bar, enjoying some of Vicky's amazing great cocktails) she is a wonderful mixologist and anything we did not find in the kitchen we just asked for and they promptly provided.

We highly recommend this magic place in The Hill Country.

MASS

Published Jan 26, 2017

Image Not Found Miguel S. Beautiful Cabin And Excellent Staff

We had a great time at this beautiful cabin sourrounded by trees and nature, we also rented the two honeymoon suites (we are a family of 18 people) and it was great since the suites are just a couple of steps away from the main cabin.

We are a family that loves music so at night we were singing in the 3500 sf porch when Micky and Walter offered to bring a professional Karaoke so we accepted, ojh my gosh ... we ended up singing and dancing almost all night long...

We ordered breakfast in the morning and Vicky prepared for us a very tasteful Mimosa breakfast BTW everybody loved it!!

Thank you everybody at Homeaway from Home Ranch

Published Jan 30, 2017

Image Not Found William H. Amazing Property With Very Accommodating Owners!

We just had the perfect stay at this unique and beautiful property! To call it a cabin, just does not do it justice... Such a roomy, well decorated, and well thought out retreat from the normal hotel room or VRBO property. Mickey and Vickey were so gracious with our unique situation, and really made us feel welcome! We will be back, and have a much longer stay, to enjoy the entire property and available amenities!

Published Mar 13, 2017

Image Not Found CA H.Cleveland Ohio Nature And Art Combined

The ranch interior is full of art and the exterior has a deck with frig and bar

It is a unique experience

The hosts are on the property and accommodating to your needs

The hosts can provide you w gourmet meals or you can cook in the well laid put kitchen or outdoor grill,

The deck is spacious and the animals( horses, donkeys and goats are friendly and amazingly and friendly)

Published Jun 3, 2017

Image Not Found Melissa G. If You Love Animals And Serenity

I was so sad that it rained most of the time for our anniversary because this place is so beautiful! It is serene and away from it all, but close enough for shopping in Boerne, Fredericksburg, and Kerrville. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Published Jun 12, 2017

Image Not Found Heather R. Serene

We enjoyed the expansive setting and quiet atmosphere. We didn't realize how many lodging options they had until we arrived! Beautiful property and very hospitable hosts! Recommending!

Published Jul 16, 2017

Image Not Found David L. Getaway From Houston

My husband and I only were able to stay one night, but will definitely try to go again. Miguel and Victoria were such gracious hosts and made us feel as if we had been friends for years. The large house is beautifully decorated with comfortable furnishings and the large deck was amazing. We spent a great deal of time just lounging outside with a glass of wine enjoying the peaceful area. My husband loved that when he went down the stairs he was met by the goats, dogs and donkeys, especially the littlest goat, Milagro. Our gourmet pizza and Greek salad dinner was the best I even had and the breakfast totally wonderful (we both loved the jalapeno bacon and cinnamon rolls). My only complaint is that we could only stay one night.

Published Mar 19, 2018

Image Not Found Michael S. THIS PLACE AWSOME!!!!!!!

It was way more then we expected, so quite and peaceful, really nice place we will come back again.

Published Apr 10, 2018

Image Not Found Amanda K. Gorgeous!!

Our stay was a short one but we truly loved it! We will go back for sure!

Published May 4, 2018

Image Not Found Paige T. Stunning Nature And Complete Comfort

Our family totally enjoyed our get away at the hill country getaway. The hosts were outstanding as was their service & dinner recommendations. We slept well and woke up refreshed and ready to begin our day on the marvelous deck , watching the baby goats play under the trees, we will be back for sure!

Published Jul 3, 2018

Image Not Found David H. Very Rustic, Roomy Main Home, Very Clean.

A true Texas experience, only stayed one night but enjoyed the property. Mic and Vic could not be more friendly, they will make your stay enjoyable.

Published Nov 17, 2018

Image Not Found Jeanette W. Beautiful And Relaxing

We enjoyed our stay .It was a great location so we could visit San Antonio and Fredericksburg. My son loved the horse riding and Miguel was a wonderful guide.

Published Jan 11, 2019

Image Not Found Ramiro G. The Great Getaway

Very beautiful relaxing place! Great service!

Published Apr 7, 2019

Image Not Found Thomas H. Unforgettable Experience.

My wife and I had a blast in this unique place.

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and it turned out to be one of the bests celebrations we have ever had.

The cabin is so precious and cozy that you feel like staying forever, were supposed to have a dinner out in a restaurant but instead we ended up having dinner on-site and it was WOW!! incredible, they have the must amazing dishes... We got along so well with the owners that we spent the night with them talking and dancing and singing and so much more... it was incredible we are so looking for the next time we now have new sincere friends.

We love you guys, we hope to see you very soon!!

Tom and Sindy

Published May 29, 2015

Image Not Found Jose R. Hansel And Gretel

Definitely a perfect little get away for couples and families(hint the name home way). The cabin was excellent and roomy. Everything worked great and was lots of fun. The owners are very nice and outgoing. They will help you with whatever you need and ask. They are also building some new cabins which yall should check out. They are turning into great rooms. If you ever need to get away this is definitely a great place to go to and have fun. I'll definitely be back in the future!

Published May 22, 2015

Image Not Found Texas Ronieprogreso Lakes,texas Usa The Perfect Place

what a great place,quiet,private with lovely trees. the staff was right there to help you get settled in and you had the comfort of knowing just a phone call away they would be right there to help. the cabin was very clean and had great porches to set out on and enjoy the goats,donkeys and horses. Good location and we recommend it to the fullest! Also its dog friendly which is very hard to find. Looking for a good place in this area this is it. thank you for the relaxing stay.

Published Mar 2, 2016

Image Not Found Steve S.United States Hill Country Cabins With Lots Of Upside

Property has about 4 cabins and a larger building with 2 suites, kitchen and dining facilities with a large open veranda. When we were there the larger building looked like it hadn't been used in a while, and could stand a major clean-up.

The cabin we stayed in was the smallest and was comfortable enough for our needs. It had everything we needed. We only had two issues. The AC unit is a window unit in the living/kitchen area. It kept that area very cool, but took almost 8 hours to make the sleeping area comfortable (it was a hot day in the Texas Hill Country). It might have helped to have a floor fan to move the cool air from the living/kitchen area to the sleeping area. Second issue was the Internet wasn't working for us. It appeared to be a bad modem but the replacement didn't work either. Wasn't a huge deal since we were there to visit friends that live nearby. Cell signal was good enough on the front porch to send/receive emails.

The staff was wonderful. They were very friendly and helpful (Internet issue aside). The goats were a hoot. I didn't know goats were so gregarious. There were at least a half dozen horses.

I should close with a couple of items. The owners were out of the country at the time so we have no experience with them face-to-face. Secondly, my wife and I do not agree on how to rate the cabin we stayed in, but she's spoiled by more expensive home away and air bnb places we've stayed. I would say the price reflects the cabin we stayed in. Had it been 300-400 a night I would expect more. The 4 stars is a compromise.

Published Aug 4, 2016

Image Not Found Cheryl P. Convenient Location To Downtown Boerne

The property's distance to Boerne makes this location convenient yet you still feel tucked away in the country. The location is mindful of a YMCA camp as there are several cabins on the property tucked away in the trees. Our visit was relatively quiet and restful. Be prepared to bring a book as the internet service is missing and the WiFi was so slow movies were interrupted while streaming - there is no cable TV. These are not negatives as long as you are prepared to read, play games as a family, and enjoy the overall peace and quiet of this property. This was our anniversary weekend and we were pleased to have a bottle of wine in the room upon arrival compliments of Micky and Vicki. The only downside for us is that as of today, after a couple of emails, we still have not received a refund of our pet deposit. We would stay here again.

Published Aug 2, 2016

Image Not Found Walter S. A Very Relaxing Weekend

I stayed at this nice little cabin to finish my book, it was the perfect spot to do so, the cabin is in the middle of the woods, you can see horses, goats, donkeys and deer roaming freely all day long, it is just mazing; next time I am bringing my family over with me.

White.

Published Jan 26, 2017

Image Not Found MIGUEL S. Cozy Little Cabin

We rented this cabin in addition to the Wildflowers (we were 12 people in total) the cabin is clean ans it is fully equipped with a big fridge.

We stayed up late at the porch enjoying the peace and quiet of the woods.

We went horseback riding in the morning... such a nice tour around the ranch we were able to see deer, long horns and lamas it was a very unqique experience.

Published Jan 30, 2017

Image Not Found Bill B. Wonderful Stay

Enjoyed a peaceful and quiet stay. The owners were available when needed but never hovered. Very nice and clean cabins, close to Boerne and Sisterdale.

Published Jul 26, 2017

Image Not Found Meagan R. Refreshing Stay In The Country Yet Conveniently Close To Beorne Fun!

Our hosts generously upgraded our stay to the comfy cozy main cabin, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Upon arrival we were greeted by an expansive deck lit up with festive patio lights which made us want to lounge on the deck sipping wine all night long! Spacious kitchen and living room great for gathering for priceless quality time together. Bedroom is furnished with cute antiques and a very comfortable bed. Our son loved waking up early to explore the ranch and interact with the friendly livestock. My husband brewed the delicious coffee provided which definitely helped the early mornings! Overall a fun stay full of quality time.

Published Sep 25, 2017

Image Not Found Dale D. Everything We Hoped It Would Be

Wonderful stay in a wonderful location. Micky and Vicky were gracious hosts who were never more than a phone call away. The property is gorgeous and the cabin was clean and inviting. Definitely coming back.

Published Mar 18, 2018

Image Not Found Ann H. Amazing Weekend!

Lovely cabin on a beautiful property. Micky and Vicky were the perfect hosts. Amazingly friendly goats, donkeys and horses. Loved my horseback riding afternoon! Super pet friendly, my dog loved it! Will definitely be back.

Published May 4, 2018

Image Not Found Alicia A. Our Vacation This December 2018 Was Fantastic! The Horese And Goats Were A Bonus!

Mickys & Vicky's ranch is great getaway! We had a great Christmas 2018. The animals is quite a bonus. My daughter and her boyfriend made it down to the corral every morning with apples to feed them. We made a few trips to Boerne downtown - which looks magical, like a postcard picture. Bought a delicious pie at bumsdoddler's, a trip to Boerne' s lake- (which by the way my daughter took some awesome pictures). We even made it to Comfort Tx. On the way back we took a FM road that lead us to an Oasis. It was an old saloon packed with drinks! From beer to soft drinks. We signed a guest book, took pics, and left donations. Over all, our stay was Great! The cabin that I chose, was rather small. It did say 3 bedrooms, but in reality it only has 1, and a sofa bed in the living area. That was the Hansel & Gretal cabin. Everything else was picture perfect. Didn't get to spend much time with Vicky & Micky, till the day of our departure. We will definitely come back again, but this time I know which cabin to select. They gave us a tour to their 10 cabins. Plus informed us of a venue to be coming soon. So excited that this little place of heaven exists. They have a complete kitchen, of which I cooked a prime rosemary -rib roast. Thank you- Micky & Vicky- (hopefully i get to meet you Vicky)! I left you some kitchen decorative towels Vicky for one of your lovely cabins! Thank you kurstin & Wess for your hospitality.

Alicia Acosta. 😉�

Published Jan 16, 2019

Image Not Found Nadia P.SAVANNAH Tiny Cabin, Beautiful Setting

The host family was friendly and accommodating. While the grounds were effected by the recent floods, it was still picturesque. The cabin was smaller than expected and the additional charge for additional guests made the cost inappropriate for the accommodations provided. Allowing guests for only one night was a huge benefit. Fredericksburg was fun but I cannot imagine spending more than one night in the area. We did not eat on the grounds or participate in the activities but I am interested in returning for that purpose.

Published Jun 15, 2015

Image Not Found Amanda A.Austin TX We Will Return!

My husband and I have been VRBOers for many years. This property wasn't just an anniversary getaway for us - "Micky and Vicky" made it a celebration!

This cabin is one of several on a large, beautiful property. Whether you prefer a social B&B experience or a private getaway, adventure or peace, a weekend retreat or an extended stay, a large family gathering or a romantic event - this property has it all.

Miguel and Victoria love to spoil their guests. I felt like an absolute queen. Brunch was unbelievable. The food was fantastic, and the stories entertaining. Miguel and Victoria are kind, fascinating people. We left inspired (but never hungry!). Thank you, M & V!

Published Jun 11, 2015

Image Not Found D W. Excellent Experience

Our family of 6 plus a dog stayed here for 3 weeks while waiting to move into our new house. We absolutely loved the rustic environment. Our kids were outside everyday feeding the goats and horses and playing around instead of camped out in front of the TV. The best part of the whole experience was Micky and Vicki, these are 2 amazing people. We had a couple of minor problems in the first day and they bent over backwards to make sure we were taken care of and happy. It was great getting to know them and we now consider them friends. When friends and family come to town that won't fit in our house, this will be our first recommendation for them. Thank you so much Micky and Vicki, we need to schedule that dinner at our house soon.

Published Sep 4, 2015

Image Not Found John K. Wonderful!!!

Wonderful food, very charming accommodations, truly superior hospitality. They even made a birthday cake for my daughter, which made her feel so special! Thanks for a great experience during our weekend getaway!!!

Published Jan 25, 2016

Image Not Found Do Not Miss The Opportunity Of A Private Dinner.

We came here for my daughter's birthday. The private dinner they made for us was unbelievable. It was one of the best dinners we have ever had. It was completely awesome how they catered to us.

The cabin we stayed at was accommodating for three people. It is not a fancy cabin but perfect for where we were at. The sleeping area upstairs is mainly for small to average people. We hope to come back and go horseback riding.

Published Jan 25, 2016

Image Not Found Dianne D.Austin, TX Charming Cabin For Two

The cabin was clean and charmingly decorated in a butterfly theme, and the owners were very nice. My son enjoyed cooking in the kitchen. We enjoyed watching Netflix on the living room TV,  the cabin was comfortable for two people. All in all, we enjoyed our trip, and I recommend visiting the historic bowling alley in Boerne, and the two local caves – Cascade Caverns and Cave Without a Name.

Published Apr 14, 2016

Image Not Found Patrick R. Wonderful Cozy Cabin

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at this cozy cabin, Vicky and Micky prepared for us some roses, wine and a love card beautifully displayed on our room, I will always remember Betty's face when she saw the display when she stepped in the room; next day we rode Zeus and Montasha throughout the beautiful 30 acre ranch.

Thanks so much to Home Away from Home Ranch, we will be back soon.

Published Oct 18, 2016

Image Not Found Chau L. The Perfect Gateaway

My family and I spent the weekend at this cozy cabin it was a great experience my children fed the goats and we took pictures of the baby goats, we roasted marshmallows and made s'mores in the fire pit, next day we rode Zeus and Montasha and took pictures also.

The staff was always there to take care of our extra needs.

We will be back soon!

Published Jan 26, 2017

Image Not Found MIGUEL S. Vacaciones Perfectas

Ademas de rentar esta cabana también rente la Hansel and Gretel misma que tambien estaa en VRBO.

Para mi reservacion, tuve la fortuna de hablar con Vicky y me dio un precio especial en donde me incluyoo inclusive la montada a caballo, fue una experiencia unica y estaremos regresando muy pronto para el cumpleanos de mi esposo.

Published Jan 30, 2017

Image Not Found Connie V. Property Is Serene And Conveniently Located. It Was A Great Place.

Enjoyed our stay and down time. Vicky and Micky are great hosts. We'll be back!

Published Oct 25, 2017

Image Not Found Tommy K. Peaceful

Extremely wonderful nice people. And meet some very nice guest. It is a great place to get away and just relax your mind.

Image Not Found Richard H. Wonderful Experience

My wife and I stayed at this Honeymoon suite to celebrate our 20th anniversary, it was a lovely experience Vicky and Micky, the owners had for us a bottle of champagne and they set roses all around our room.

We went horseback riding on the ranch and we had a blast we had never rode a horse before we really liked the experience, we were able to see deer, lamas, long horns and many squirrels, what an amazing tour!!

Thank you Vicky, Micky, Walter and all the staff of Home Away from Home, we will be back soon!!

Image Not Found Miguel S. ¡El Lugar Perfecto!

La suite Tree House es simplemente perfecta, tiene vista al bosque y a un árbol increíble, pudimos dar un paseo a caballo por todo el rancho y tomamos muchas fotos viendo el atardecer.

Vicky nos preparoo un almuerzo riquisimo.

Gracias por un fin de semana inolvidable.

Image Not Found Dory P. Beautiful Experience!

We just stayed here with our dog and 8 year old daughter and it was a beautiful experience! The cabin was clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We loved watching Netflix movies in the evening on the amazing television set up. The attention to detail through decoration was so comfortable and pleasing to be around for the weekend. It was also so peaceful on the property and we loved seeing the goats and other animals. My daughter also rode a horse while we were there, which was so fun. All their horses were so friendly, I was unfamiliar with horses so this made me feel much more comfortable and confident. They had a smaller miniture horse that was perfect size for my daughter, but after a while of riding and how great Mickey was as a guide, by the end of the session she then rode the full size horse, it was a wonderful experience! Vicky and Micky were very accommodating it was truly very welcoming. On request, Vicky also provided a wonderful cake for us when we arrived as we were there celebrating our daughters birthday, which was so yummy and just perfect. We enjoyed everything about our stay here and cannot wait to return!

Image Not Found Teresa W. Perfect, Peaceful And Relaxing!

We had a wonderful weekend relaxing in our well stocked cabin. It was the Tree House cabin. The bed was very comfy and the kitchenette had everything we needed to prepare meals. The cabin had a coffee pot, microwave, dinner ware, and a large screen TV with Netflix.

The friendly mule visited our porch each morning to share a meal with the farm cat we liked to feed. There were also very friendly goats and horses. Each morning we watched a family of deer make an appearance right outside our window! The 300 year old oak tree outside our window was host to several types of birds including a family of cardinals!

Image Not Found Lori B.Madisonville Beautiful And Tranquility

Our unit was furnished just right. The beautiful scenery and animals made it a very pleasant stay.

Image Not Found Uttam R. Fun Family Getaway With My Kids And Dog

Vicky, Mickey and Annette were wonderful hosts and made my family welcome and comfortable.. Really enjoyed riding horses, playing with the goats and puppies..thanks again.

Image Not Found Deanna D. Lovely Area And Cute Cabin

The property is really nice and would be a great place to bring kids. The cabin was cute and comfy. The water has a strong sulphur odor, but that was disclosed up front so no surprise. The property mangers were easy to contact and very helpful. We enjoyed watching the animals early in the morning from the little porch.

Image Not Found Cherie W. Very Relaxing Stay! Micky And Vicky Are Great At Assuring A Comfortable Stay With Great Food! I

Staying here was better than a five star hotel. It was very quiet and relaxing! It is a place to stay if you really want s romantic quiet time!

Image Not Found Julia W. Enjoyable

We liked the house we were staying, the area, the location ( very close to the town). The customer service was top-notch (there were a few issues, mostly due to misunderstanding, but Vicky and Micky promptly resolved them). All in all, very good hospitable people. The kids loved their interaction with the animals and horse-riding).

Image Not Found Michael B.Victoria, TX USA Quiet And Peaceful Retreat With Wonderful Hosts!

Vicky and Micky are just the best. Great hosts. Great cooks. Very attentive to the needs of their guests. Wes, the maintenance man, escorted us to our cabin and answered any questions we had. We have found our hill country get away!! 5 stars!

Image Not Found Jonathan P.Harbor City, CA Beautiful Ranch, Great People And Animals

We had such a nice time during our stay here! Miguel and Vickie, and all the staff, do their absolute best to keep guests happy--they really went out of their way to accommodate our special requests.

I hadn't ridden a horse in about 20 years, and the horse I rode at the ranch was, hands down (no pun intended), the best I've EVER ridden. She just needs to know what you want, and she does it. My wife and daughter had the same experience, and Miguel really put our minds at ease that our little girl, age 7, would be happy and safe.

There are a number of goats, donkeys, and even a pot-bellied pig at the ranch. One of the donkeys, a fat little brown one, was the sweetest thing ever--she just put her head against my shoulder and wanted to be rubbed and stroked on her neck. Pancho and Petunia also really liked being touched. Even the pot-bellied pig rolled over on her back for a belly rub. Finally--the two ranch dogs, Hansel and Gretel, were so much fun that we could barely stand leaving them behind. They ran around and had a great time, but on the morning we left Gretel was waiting for us on our front porch as we packed up our things and got ready to head out.



Write a Review